a roadmap for the year.

Wow––January 11. Somehow that happened. In December, I had all sorts of high hopes for 2012 (as everyone does at the start of a new year, I guess) and how I was really going to get myself together here. Get on top of my life. Start doing the things I always say I want to do.

And now it’s the second week of January (“January’s already one-third over!” as one of my colleagues put it). I feel like I somehow missed the gun that indicated the start of the race and now need to catch up. I blame the fact that I was reading the Hunger Games trilogy, which was all-consuming for a week. But now moving forward…

Over the course of the last 6 weeks, I’ve been working to set goals for my Year of Presence. As I mentioned in December, I was using this Annual Review worksheet to help guide my goal-setting for the year. I identified 9 categories to set goals for:

  1. Travel
  2. Health
  3. Writing
  4. Learning
  5. Relationships
  6. Work
  7. Spiritual
  8. Financial
  9. Service

After entering those 9 categories into a spreadsheet, I had a look at my bucket list because I want my goals, for the most part, to point towards the things I know I want to do at some point in my life. And with that, I started making my goals for the year, identifying at least 2 things in each category that I want to work towards. I used the SMART goal methodology to help me set goals that are concrete and achievable, rather than nebulous resolution-type goals, and found it really helpful in making my goal list. Here’s a Top 10:

  • Visit friends in at least 3 other cities who I don’t get to see enough (travel)
  • Complete the “DC 25” list (travel)
  • Run a race (health)
  • Publish 2 blog posts per week (writing)––I know I haven’t started off well on this one, but I’m persisting!
  • Submit something for publication (writing)
  • Sign up for a photography class (learning)
  • Complete 12 DIY projects––1/month (learning)
  • Complete the 52 Book Challenge (learning)
  • Send birthday cards to my friends (relationships)
  • Make one new recipe per week and have a nice long sit-down dinner (relationships)

So there (some of) they are. My roadmap for the year. And even though it really snuck up me, I can tell 2012 is going to be a good one. The next step for goals is determining the first step is towards accomplishing each one (to make the goals bite-sized). I’m nearly done with that part, but still have a little ways to go. So that’ll have to wait for next week… 🙂

Question: Did you set goals this year? What are some you’re really excited about?
One thought on “a roadmap for the year.

  1. Pingback: Ready to fly… « lifebydmagdalene

Leave a Reply

