unplugged.

For the next ten days: no cell phone, no e-mail (work or personal), no intra-office instant messenger, no Facebook, no Twitter (work or personal), no conference calls, no computer (work or personal), no Internet access or 3G networks, no television, no iPod or recorded music (!), not even a watch.

For the next ten days: unplugged.

I’m expecting a day or two of withdrawal, climaxing probably 4 or 5 hours into our flight when my eyes are too tired to read, my thoughts have all been scribbled down on yellowed journal pages. Then what? No music to turn on to aide in falling asleep. No mindless cell phone games to pass the time. 10 days may not seem like very long, but it’s been almost 3 years since I’ve done longer, and in the back of my mind, there is a fear that I won’t remember how.

10 days of being in the moment. Of forced presence, immediacy. What is relevant is now. Each moment filled exclusively with whatever surroundings surround me, with face-to-face communication, with updates only on what I can see and hear and feel (the way the weather changes because I can feel the change on my skin).

Unencumbered and free.

2 thoughts on “unplugged.

Leave a Reply

